Woman Up: Happy Mother’s Day 2016

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers and amazing women in my life. I am so fortunate to say I am surrounded by amazing women. Last year my gift to my momma was a letter to her I decided the whole world needed to see. This year it’s about my momma and some other amazing mommas in my life.

Woman Up was the theme for goal setting with Oiselle for 2016. So here are some of the women in my life who make me ‘woman up’ and dare to chase after my dreams.

My Mom
No, not just because is it Mother’s Day am I celebrating my mom. Already in 2016 my mom has blown me away with how courageous she is. You would think an accomplished doctor in her 60’s she might look to slow down. Not my mom; she’s kicking a$s and taking names.

This winter my mother was appointed to the Vice-Dean position of the University of Toronto Medical School, in lay terms that means she’s going to run the undergraduate medical school. Go Mom Go! I’m so proud of you. I’m so amazed at what you want to do to change education, how you believe you can be the difference, and how you are the difference in so many people’s lives, including mine.

The Oiselle Nest
I’ve never been to the nest but I can feel all the love that comes from the emails they send, the posts on their blog, through social media. This is a group of woman who just want to spread the #runlove.

At Payton Jordan I was fortunate enough to meet many of these amazing women, Lauren Fleshman, Sarah Lesko, and Sally Bergesen. Earlier in the month I met Kristin Metcalf and Christy Slye. I wanted so wanted more time with all them. All of these women inspire me to chase my dreams, running and outside of running. But more than that, they inspire me to share my love for running to inspire other runners. These women all make me a better person.

Momma Kelly
You came into my life via your daughter, and I am also so thankful to have her in my life everyday. We don’t see each other often but I think you all the time (no, Chris not in that way!). You are a superstar lawyer, but more importantly a superstar mom. You balance it all and you do it with grace, gratitude, and grit. You are a badass lady, and I seriously hope I never come up against you in court.

Dr. Catherine Zahn
You and my mom together make me laugh, you are two of the smartest people I know and when we put you together it’s a giggle fest. You have paved the way for female physicians, CEO of the CAMH and kicking butt.

I have watched you inspire my mom, be there for my mom, and have a whole lot of fun along the way. I have so many great memories riding bikes with you Sunday mornings, brunch, family ski trips, and so many great dinners. ‘Homemade but not are in our home!,’ lives forever.

A Few Other Women:
There are a few other women who are not mothers who have really made me smile over the last year:
Julia HanlonRunningOnOm challenges me to think and think about how I can just get better at everything I do. If you want to challenge yourself to think outside the box than listen to Julia’s amazing podcast.
Shalane Flanigan + Amy Craig – Watching these two gals work together at the US Marathon Trials in February, still brings a tear to my eyes. These two girls brought out the best in each other in training. Through the race when they had their up and down moments, and in the end watching Amy try and help Shalane though her nutrition and heat exhaustion at the end, that is really #WomanUp support.
The Entire Flock + the Varsity Blues Ladies – These are my teammates with me on the track and all across North America. Everyday all of these women touch my life in different ways and all of them inspire me to get after what’s important to me and remind me to be there for them when they need me.

So ladies, I challenge you through the rest of this year to support each other, to embrace each other’s successes, and help each other through the tougher times. Even if you’re not a momma, you can still have your day tomorrow, just remember where you came from!