Take a Breath, Reflect & Move On

Well Payton Jordan 2016 was not the outcome I wanted. Onward and upwards. I could end my blog here and just close the door, but it’s not that simple (and there is always something to be learned!) Here is my reflection looking back on the weekend.

IMG_6427From the moment I found out I was in heat 2 I let it get to my head. I wasn’t good enough. I don’t deserve to be chasing Olympic Standard. I am not meant to be fast. I let everything I have told people I have working on go out the window.

I’m not going to hash out the race and provide details like I usually do. Instead, I’m going to share what I learned, what is going to help me great next time.

I ran relaxed for about 99% of the race. I ran focused. I ran composed. I followed the leaders. I tried to jump on shoulders when I felt the pace slowing. I felt good in between the 3rd and 4th kilometres, the place where you can lose focus and the pain train can really set in.

I raced to race. I didn’t try to race for time. I believe that with racing, when you race to race the time will come. Ok, I raced to race until about 4850m-4900m when I really let my head get in the way!

I ran the same time as I did at the Stanford Invite on April 1st. Some people may look at my result and not see this as an improvement. I look at my time and know that it felt more comfortable to run. That I recovered faster. That I had no soreness the next day. All of those things tell me it is an improvement.

It’s ok that things did not go exactly as planned. When do things really ever go as IMG_6427you planned them to go? I learned something. I raced well. I love what I do. Most importantly I’m hungry for the next race.

“First with the head then with the heart.” It’s a quote from one of my all-time favourite books, The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay. I’ve reflected, I’ve looked at the times, my head knows it was good and my heart will follow.