It’s Never Too Late

I really love the running community. We are (generally) a great group of people who support each other. You could be racing to win for a personal best or you could be running just for the love of running at any of these events. But generally you find people enjoying the suffering of running together and overtly send warm wishes their fellow competitors.

This week I was interviewed by Canadian Running Magazine and it reminded me not only how lucky I am to do what I do everyday but that it’s also never too late to try running.

This really hit home for me at the TO Women’s Run Series watching all those amazing women out running and racing for their own reasons. I loved how many of them had encouraging things to say to me. There were so many I mostly gave thumbs up back, but in my head it was constant thanks for the gratitude. There were many who, after hearing Cathy Bergman’s story, were there trying to take their lives back.

I also got to meet Cathy Bergman, a remarkable woman who turned her life around. Cathy went from normal woman to morbidly obese and then took it all back again. She was successful, she had everything she wanted, but deep down she was unhappy and felt like she had no control over her life as she gained weight. She resented her husband for his love for tennis and the time he spent working out.

FullSizeRenderThen Cathy found running. She started losing weight. She fell in love with herself and life again. And then the she understand why her husband protected his tennis time and she began protecting her running time. I wish I could bottle Cathy’s energy and share it with people when they don’t think they can do something; because she proves you can do anything you set your mind to.

Cathy reminded that it is never too late. It’s never to late to start running. It’s never too late to lose weight. It’s never too late to go after your dreams. Thank you Cathy for your remarkable story and letting me into your life. I can’t wait to see what else you dare to dream up and accomplish.

Here is the article from Canadian Running:

Bunny PIcture