Making The Pan Am Games Team!

I don’t even remember when I heard the Pan Am Games were coming to Toronto. I think it did not faze me since I was not running competitively at the time. Last summer after my breakthrough season my coach and I sat down and for ‘the talk.’ We thought ‘hey, let’s try for the Pan Am Games, the worst that happens is you run fast and don’t qualify.’

At one point this year Athletics Canada released a series of standards for the events. Those were later pulled down and it was stated the top two in each event would be considered for the team.

Athletics is being held at York University in a brand new facility. All of my high school first round qualifiers, The North York Secondary School Association meets, for OFSAA were always held at York University.

My journey for the Pan Am Games began in Mt. SAC, where I opened my outdoor season. After a month in California I came home for some more training before heading off on another west coast adventure.

The excitement began when I ran a 4:07.47 in Portland and securing one of the top two spots on the June 14th deadline (Nicole Sifuentes had the top spot by 9 one-hundredths of a second).

I had to wait a few days but an email arrived asking if I wanted to join Team Canada. Of course I did. Running in my home city, it’s a dream come true. And something that most athletes never get to do. And it was what I had been working towards all year.

A few days later Athletics Canada made their official announcement. Slowly but surely I’ve been sharing this awesome news with my friends and family. Thank you to everyone who has supported me along this journey. It is just starting and I am so excited for what is to come.