Happy Mother’s Day

Dear Mom;

I was going to write this only to you, but then I thought the world (well the little world that follows me) should know how awesome you are.

I have the best mom in the world. No, really. I’m sure your mom is great too but I’ve had this amazing superstar in my life. She has taught me so much. Motivated me. Inspired me. I respect and admire her. She’s not just my mom anymore, she’s one of my best friends.

10398479_61279611532_6411589_nYou taught me you can have it all. Well you can everything that really matters to you. But you have to work for it. You took on the equivalent of 2.5 jobs at one point last year and I watched you balance it all. Actually you didn’t just balance it you were a master of all of them. People say to you ‘I don’t know how you do it.’ But I do. You work hard. You focus on what is important and prioritize. You set high standards for yourself and those who work for you. And you never give up.

You gave me the freedom to navigate life, providing helpful suggestions along the way to help me reach my goals. You never told me what to do, how to do it or when to do it.  Instead you let me stumble sometimes, but you always made me learn from my mistakes. You let me try things ‘my way’ to chase after what I was working for. But you always made sure I carried out what I had promised to do.

You introduced me to running. Do you remember the inaugural Canadian Breast307653_10150308075191533_707474531_n Cancer Run? It started down at the ROM on Queens Park just south of Bloor Street. You said I should set the pace. So I did. I think to this day that is still the fastest 5k you have ever run!

You taught me the freedom of running and fitness. You showed me how important fitness was to your mental health. Not only does being active keep you looking good but your brain gets the much-needed break it craves.

People said it was probably tough growing up in a house with you. If it was I didn’t notice. You had high expectations for your children but you were always fair. I look back now and realize you really did not care about our grades, what you cared about was that we worked hard and we tried. A natural outcome of working hard is higher grades. You believed that we could learn anything, we just had to try and we had to practice. You taught me how to enjoy deliberate practice.

You show me how important I, and our whole family, is to you. Remember after your 5 year review as Chief of Anaesthesia when they asked you what were your greatest successes in the last five years?!

We had the greatest family ski vacations. Vermont. Whistler. Big White – remember when the lost Joey and you found him?! Vail. Summit County. Skiing is the ultimate family sport. You can all do your own thing on a hill.

I told you once to commit to the turn. As a wiser ski coach now I’d say ‘commit to the turn and keep your weight over your downhill ski.’ You helped me reach my coaching goals. You told me to keep pursuing what was important to me. People judged me for continuing to ski coach. You didn’t. And look the hard work has paid off and I get to blend my coaching passion with my engineering background.

998625_10151507079001533_1187458903_nYou have taught me compassion. You have shown me love. You were always there when I needed you. You chased after your own dreams and passions. You didn’t stop your life just because you had kids; you just made us part of what was important to you.

Some people would say you’re like a super hero. Super heroes are fictitious. You are real, very real. I get to come home, hug you, ask your for advice, and enjoy a glass of wine with you at the Oasis North and South.

You are my mom and you are one of the most amazing people in this world. You inspire me everyday to go after what is important to me. You motivate me when I’m having a tough day. And you love me unconditionally.

Happy Mother’s Day mom. I love you.