Post Nats XC Recap

#ACXC (Nationals XC) was on Saturday so I’ve had a few minutes to reflect on the race. Things did not go as planned; I got a stitch and just could not fight through it. To say the least, I was disappointed.

When I wrote about my provincials experience I spoke about the fact that I use XC to make myself stronger, both physically and mentally. Given that strength  was the goal of XC, I can say that Nationals was a success.

Running with a stitch in your chest takes a lot of will and determination to not just sit down and stop. Every breath I took felt like someone was trying to cut my stomach muscles from the inside out.

I didn’t give up, I put one muddy foot in front of the other and kept going.

DSC_3684Of course the result was not what I wanted. I finished 11th, which means I am just outside consideration for the World’s and NACAC XC teams. However, there is a lot to celebrate from race day

My teammate Rachel Hannah Won!

I could not be more excited for @RachelHannahRD. She has been an inspIMG_5316iration to come back to running and training. She has been an amazing training partner. And she works so hard. Rachel I am so proud of you and your accomplishments in 2014. I can’t wait to keep working with you in 2015.

With Rachel and the other girls from Ontario, our branch won the overall team title.

Our other teammate Aija was my rock. She kept me calm. She opened her life and shared her family with me. And she gritted it out in one of the toughest races I have ever seen.

I am surrounded by an amazing support network.

The emails, text messages, tweets, FB posts, etc. that I received on Friday and Saturday were overwhelming. While out for my coffee walk on Saturday, watching the sunrise over the mountains, I was completely overcome by my emotions.IMG_5313

Staying with at @Vingies was the best. I couldn’t ask for someone more fun and more calming. Her energy is infectious. She was the best inspiration as I passed her on each of those 4 laps.

I had the best cheer squad at the park with me. My better half flew out there to watch me race. Sarah’s man-friend CJ came out. Jonas, who I did Ragnar with, and has become a great friend rang the cowbell with pride. People who I’ve only met through social media were cheering for me in the park. Friends and family from back home were harassing my park crew for information.DSC_3751

Giving Gratitude to my ability to move freely everyday

Once upon a time I heard this at a yoga class and it really resonated with me. I have seen my share of loss in life and this statement is a great reminder to celebrate the simple things everyday.

After the race I got to go on an amazing run/hike through Deep Cove to Quarry Rock. I ran with a local running club, Tight Club, and got to see a part of BC I had never seen before.

IMG_5344

The following day @AngryCoffeeGuy and I headed for a seawall run around Stanley Park. I learn new ways to love him everyday when we do the simple things, like going for a run together.IMG_5364

#ACXC 2014 is only one race. I’ve had amazing success at almost every event I have entered this year. Bad days happen, but I’m not going to let it define my season.