A Time to be Thankful

I have a lot to be thankful for. I have my health and happiness. I have lots of opportunity in my life. I am surrounded by amazing people. And everyday I wake up and there is much to chase after.

But I do want to take a few moments to be thankful for all the success I’ve had with running so far this year, a little reflection and a reminder of how fortunate I am.

Team Gollian

The start of my success is owed to my amazing friend Gillian Tweedie, the other half of #TeamGollian. Gillian encouraged me to come back to practice after a long hiatus. My job had me up in Aurora and by the time I got home most days I hunkered down at home and didn’t get out much. She encouraged me to come out and see all of my friends again. But more importantly she pulled me through those workouts when I was really suffering on my return. You know those ones where you think your legs and lungs are going to explode and your brain is screaming for you to stop!? Thanks to her I made it through those and really started making some gains in my runnning

I am also thankful to Gillian for being the rabbit in my first 1500m this spring. Things may not have gone to plan but lining up on the start line with one of your number #1 fans is the best feeling in the world.

Gillian is expecting her first child this year, Gillian 2.0. I will be there to support her through all her runs pre- and post-baby. And I will be there to help out with the little one so she can get back to her running.

My family

I have been running on and off now for at least 18 years; it’s been about 18 years since I started with the University of Toronto Track Club Development Program. They have always been there for me. They have been at the start and finish lines. They have driven me to meets, flown me across the country and across the globe, they are on the phone in the middle of the night when I need them.

Both my parents are extremely driven and successful people. I owe my ability to dedicate myself to them. Both my parents were, and still are, fantastic athletes. I do owe my love for running to my mom. She and I have put many miles down on the pavement together and I hope we have many more years of running together.

I am thankful for my family for showing me how to be a true competitor, to be respectful of my training and racing partners.

My #1 Fan

My monkey, Rolston Miller, someone I can always depend on. I have never had a partner that was so supportive in every sense of the word. Running or otherwise I always know that I have someone who really cares about me. And it’s not like, ‘Oh, honey, I support that decision.’ He gets right into the thick of it with me.

From making dinner (and cleaning it up) after a wicked hard workout, to pushing my limits on a road or cyclocross ride, to making sure I’m taking the right supplements and sleeping enough, I have someone who is always there for me.

I am thankful to have someone in my life who is helping me to be better, a better person, a better runner, a better partner, a better friend.

The University of Toronto Track Club

It has been about 16 years since I started out with the University of Toronto Track and Field Club as a junior. I didn’t have a driver’s license. I didn’t have a mobile phone. I had bus tickets, a back, my shoes and I would traipse around the city, via TTC, going to all of these workouts. I was surrounded by amazing coaches and friends who pushed us to see what we could accomplish.

I was not the most successful high school or collegiate runner, but I did fall in love with the sport. But more than that, I fell in love with the track club; the people, the coaches, the love for life and running.

I am thankful to have been exposed to so many great people and places over the years running and training with UTTC.

Thank you to all of you who continue to inspire and support me.