#HSROT 2014

Harry’s Spring Runoff #HSROT is a Toronto tradition. It usually marks the end of snow and the beginning of spring. It’s a great way to challenge yourself and see how well your winter training has paid off.

I decided very last minute that I wanted to participate. The Wednesday before while chatting with my training partner I decided that given how my training was going that I would try and get into #HSROT. My training this winter was not consistent, I needed the mental break, and I spent a lot of time on the ski hill on weekends (and subsequently a lot of time in the bar at the end of the day!). But I figured, why not test my legs.

The very kind staff at the Canadian Running Series helped me navigate entering and even offered me an elite bib. I greatly appreciated the help from the Boultbee sisters at the start and finish line, making sure I could stay bundled up as long as possible and having my clothes a the finish line as soon as I was done.

The day started out a little rushed. I had stayed home to smooch my favourite cyclist after he returned home from his frosty Saturday Bagel Ride. A smooch later and I was out the door and walking to the subway. Of course there was construction, and a delay, and I was feeling a little pressed for time. I arrived with just enough time and started my warmup promptly when I arrived at the park; I didn’t have much of a choice it was the only way to stay warm in the wintery winds and flurries.

My coach and I didn’t have much of a plan. I knew I shouldn’t go out too hard and I knew the hills would be really tough. What we couldn’t plan for was the wind. After the first mile both Duchene and Korir had about 30 and 20 seconds on me respectively. I was sticking to my conservative plan and making sure I didn’t go out too hard. By 4k I had reeled Korir within 11seconds but then the wind and the cold caught up with me, and the last killer hill!

In the end I finished the 8k in just over 29 minutes and was 3rd! It was a great surprise start to the spring season. Great to see some old friends out before and after and even more amazing to make some new ones.

Next up? Well I’m not sure but I’m certainly enjoying getting back into shape with my U of T Track Girls and the MGCC!