You Can’t Always Get What You Want

I’ve heard before that I always get what I want. For the record, I don’t. Although, often I do chase after the things that are important to me. I will ask those questions no one else wants to ask. Why? Because if you do not ask for something, how is anyone to know how badly you want it.

This July I am attending the Maccabiah Games, the Jewish Olympics (their words, not mine). I had really wanted to do both the cycling events (Road Race and Individual Time Trial) and Track Events (1500m, 5000m and 4x400m). What I learned, by asking many people many questions, was that the Maccabiah Games governing body does not permit any individual to participate in two sports. Despite all the questions I asked I cannot come up with a rational answer for not allowing an individual to compete in multiple events.

I had to make a choice, track or cycling. But I wanted both. While I did not end up getting exactly what I wanted I have found a compromise, the Maccabiah Man/Woman Competition. It is a four event combination of running, swimming and cycling. Naturally the triathlon is included, along with a 30km TT, the half marathon and an open water 5km swim.

Known more of a rock than a life preserver the swimming will be my biggest challenge. Although, I seem to thrive in a challenging environment and I am looking forward to getting fitter by improving my swimming.

As I have officially declared myself in the Maccabiah Woman event I am now looking for some support. These spectacular sports and cultural extravaganzas uniting close to ten thousand Jewish athletes from all over the world ah games occur every four years in Isreal. The Maccabiah is the world’s largest Jewish athletic competition in the tradition and values of Maccabiah, emphasizing the centrality of the State of Israel in the life of the Jewish people. In addition to being competitive, the sports competitions are also dedicated to the values of fair play, mutual respect, victory of body, intellect, and the pursuit of excellence

The theme this year is Higher! Faster! Stronger! Sound Jewish Minds in Healthy Jewish Bodies. Help sponsor me to the 2013 Maccabiah Games. The total cost of attendance is $8300; about one third of the cost of my trip goes to support other nations attending the games. All donations are considered charitable donations and can be made here. [http://my.e2rm.com/personalPage.aspx?registrationID=1695948&langPref=en-CA].

I will be posting pictures, stories and lots of other stuff on my journey to and during the games on my website @ sashagollish.com.

Thanks in advance for your support.