Nice to Meet You

I have been running, competing and for enjoyment, for more than 20 years. I am still trying to figure out if I’m just training to have fun or training to be competitive. My past summer season of track was full of frustration but was still successful. I had a personal best in the 1500m, finishing as the top Canadian at the Aileen Meagher meet in Halifax, but was hoping for one in the 800m as well; it’s making me hungrier for next season!

After track season I decided to try the Bala Falls Triathlon as a way to celebrate my week off of training. It was a success; off zero triathlon training I finished in the top 10 (women) and second in my age category. I was hooked. At the following multisport event I entered the Duathlon, with no swimming training this summer and some time on the bike I thought the Duathlon was a better event for me. I again had success winning the Bracebridge Duathlon. The following weekend I won Provincials in Cobourg qualifying me for World Championships next year in France.

I play ultimate frisbee as part of the TUC league of Toronto. I play a few nights of week through the year. It is an amazing workout, nothing like sprinting up and down the field!

In winters I work as a ski coach in Collingwood, Ontario. You can find me racing down the hills with the Nancy Greene Ski League. I am a Performance Level Coach with the Canadian Ski Coaching Federation and the Coaching Association of Canada and a Level 3 Instructor with the Canadian Ski Instructors Alliance (I passed the ski portion of the Level 4 exam last year!)

I also work as a coach and trainer for running, fitness and skiing. I recently linked up with the Sears Great Canadian Run: The Relay to End Kids Cancer to be their trainer.

And to fund all the activities I love so much I work as a Environmental Engineer. Check out my other blog @ SashaontheStreet.com